October 12, 2012

Recognizing the 100th Anniversary of Rice University

Mrs. HUTCHISON (for herself and Mr. Cornyn) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to:

Whereas Rice University is celebrating its 100th year as a renowned research university advancing education in the arts, humanities, and sciences;

Whereas the William Marsh Rice Institute for the Advancement of Literature, Science, and Art, named for its benefactor William Marsh Rice and now known as Rice University, was inaugurated on October 12, 1912, in Houston, Texas;

Whereas the first president of Rice University, Edgar Odell Lovett, set forth an ambitious vision for a prestigious research university;

Whereas Rice University is a leading institution of higher education, ranked among the top 20 universities in the United States by U.S. News & World Report every year since the rankings began in 1983;

Whereas Rice University is dedicated to keeping high quality education affordable through generous financial aid programs and ranks among the 10 best value private colleges by Princeton Review;

Whereas Rice University plays a leading role in research in many fields, including nanotechnology, space, cellular technology, bioinformatics, energy, health, and the environment;

Whereas Rice University has invaluably contributed to space exploration, becoming the first university in the United States to create a department dedicated to space exploration and donating the land now home to the Johnson Space Center of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration;

Whereas the groundbreaking discovery of buckminsterfullerene, referred to as ``buckyballs'', on the campus of Rice University in 1985 launched the new field of fullerene chemistry, helped launch the new scientific field of nanotechnology, earned two Rice University professors, Dr. Richard Smalley and Dr. Robert Curl, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, and is now leading to life-saving and life-enhancing breakthroughs in medicine, transportation, energy, the environment, defense, and many other endeavors;

Whereas Nobel Prize recipient Dr. Richard Smalley of Rice University played a significant role in forming The Academy of Medicine, Engineering, and Science of Texas, an organization for the Texas members of the National Academies and the first organization in Texas dedicated to building collaboration among Texas's most distinguished scientific, academic, and corporate minds in research and public policy;

Whereas the goal of Rice University is to prepare its students to succeed in a highly competitive and complex world, and many of its alumni have distinguished themselves in their service and contributions to the United States;

Whereas Rice University is one of three Texas universities to be chosen as a member of the Association of American Universities, and the only private university in Texas that is a member of that association;

Whereas Rice University is fortunate to have exceptionally fine trustees, administrators, and faculty members who have placed emphasis on inspiring students to succeed in the arts, humanities, and sciences;

Whereas the contributions of Rice University and its alumni have enriched the history of the United States and the world in the arts, humanities, sports, and sciences; and

Whereas the success of Rice University is the result of a united effort by many resourceful and dedicated individuals, and all who are associated with the preservation of the great traditions of Rice University deserve to be proud of their accomplishments: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate recognizes the 100th anniversary of Rice University and expresses gratitude to the university for its innumerable contributions to higher education and the United States.

No comments:

Post a Comment